STANDING COMMITTEE

The Standing Committee has met as required during the year 2020 to accomplish the work as designated by the Canons of the Diocese of East Carolina and The Episcopal Church. Internet communications have been used by the committee to accomplish certain business. The actions of the Standing Committee are recorded in its minutes, which are filed and archived at Diocesan House.

The 2020 Standing Committee met at Diocesan Convention to elect officers. The members of Standing Committee for 2020 were The Rev. Marcia McRae (2021), Mr. Bob Riche (2021), The Rev. Robert Alves (2022), Mr. Earl Miller (2022), The Rev. Jeff Douglas (2023), Mr. Bill Webb (2023). Mr. Bob Riche was elected secretary of the committee. The Rev. Robert Alves was elected president.

During 2020 the Standing Committee took the following action regarding persons in the ordination process in the Diocese of East Carolina: to approve Ms. Melody Perdue for ordination to the diaconate; to approve Ms. Leslie Roraback for candidacy; to approve the Rev'd Deacon Melody Perdue for ordination to the priesthood.

The Standing Committee gave consent to the following Episcopal elections: the election of Rev'd Poulsen C. Reed as Bishop of Oklahoma; the election of the Rev'd Craig Loya as Bishop Diocesan for Minnesota, and the election of the Rev'd Dr. Glenda S. Curry as Bishop Coadjutor for Alabama.

The Standing Committee also over-sees the purchase for sale of properties and issues that involve security of real property by loan. The following requests were approved: - the request for All Saints, Southern Shores to establish a \$200,000 line of credit; a request from St Peter's by the Sea, Swansboro to sell their 5% ownership interest in 577 Broad Creek Loop Rd, Swansboro, NC; a request from St Paul's Greenville to purchase 411 E. 3rd St Greenville, NC; a request from St Andrew's, Morehead City to demolish a residential structure at 2003 Arendell St, Morehead City, NC; a request by St Philip's, Southport to increase the debt associated with the construction of a new Parish Hall, Administrative and Educations Offices; and a request to refinance the mortgage of Holy Trinity, Fayetteville, NC.

In addition to the above actions the Standing Committee: approved the appointments of Rev'd Ray Hanna and Rev'd Deacon Katherine Mitchell to the Disciplinary Board; concurred with the opinion of the Chancellor that Standing Committee approval was not required for parishes to apply for PPE loans authorized by the CARES Act; and consented to the appointment of Ms. Jane Gordon as Church Attorney.

The Standing Committee met with Bishop Skirving on several occasions in its capacity as council of advice. We are especially grateful for the continued and ready advice and support offered to the committee by Chancellor, Mrs. Joan Geiszler-Ludlum. It has been our pleasure to serve the Diocese of East Carolina as members of your Standing Committee this year.

Respectfully submitted,

The Reverend Robert M. Alves, President On behalf of the Standing Committee